If it is broken … fix it!

Standard

In the last few weeks I’ve received a few comments from readers about my website.

1. Almost every link to every different page and categories wasn’t working.

2. My Twitter feed has been acting oddly and tweeting the same link.

Completely weird and highly annoying.  So it has taken me a while but I think I’ve managed to work out the problems.  The first problem is with the theme I was using – ProPhoto 4.  I loved this theme and it served me well, but there was no way I was going to fork out more money to upgrade to ProPhoto 5 (as the original version wasn’t exactly cheap).  Sure, it looked great, but as someone trying to turn a (very small) profit as a writer, every dollar counts.  Wordpress.org and Bluehost kept wanting me to upgrade the theme and I thought I could get away without doing it. However, the most recent WordPress.org upgrade started causing the problems with the pages not linking up and I decided that the easiest (and cheapest) way to fix the problem would be to jump ship back to WordPress.com.  The site you are seeing right now is totally free, cheerfully bright and I’m ok with it all. And it works – win!

As the solution to the second problem, I disconnected my Twitter account, then reconnected it and turned off my ‘Tweet Old Posts’ plugin for a while.  At least until I have some new posts here to tweet about and then I’ll get back onto it.   I haven’t really been engaged with Twitter for the past few months and that is something I’d like to change in 2015.

So, this is the new Frankly Books site and at this stage, it will be looking this way for 2015.  What do you think?  Is there anything you can’t find?  Any problems you can see?  Let me know!

Leave a Reply

