Rrrrrrewind and rrrrrelaunch!

Standard

Book publishing-wise, the last three months have been a bit of a nightmare.

First of all, there were a zillion stuff ups with uploading Ruby Marvellous and getting it printed here in Melbourne.  I’ve been a big fan of working with Lightning Source to get my books printed locally and delivered within a few days.  The finished products look amazing and are good quality.  With Diary of a Penguin-napper, things were easy – I just uploaded my book PDF and cover, then had it printed.  With Ruby Marvellous, things just didn’t go as smoothly.  There were problems with fonts needing embedding and it took several weeks to get right.  There were miscommunications at both ends.  The November 15 launch date came and went. As did the November 30 back-up.  When I left for a month long holiday in the US on December 13, the books that I’d planned on posting out to people before I left were still being processed.  Come the beginning of February, the books had finally been picked up and posted out, but that was it.  The blog tour hadn’t happened. The launch party hadn’t happened. The promo material hadn’t arrived. It was, for the most part, a non-event.

And that was so dispiriting and so completely disappointing.

It was awful that I’d been working on a new manuscript to get it ready to be a published book for nearly two years and that after all of that effort, all of the blood sweat and tears, only a handful of people (that I’m not related to) have actually read it.

Sure, there have been some positives. 717 people requested Ruby Marvellous through a Goodreads giveaway that I ran.  That was more than Penguin-napper the year before.

I’ve received some amazing feedback from people who have read the book. “I loved it, even more than Penguin-napper,” said one friend on Facebook. Or “I had a day at home time and I read your book. I couldn’t put it down. I love it. You have such an amazing imagination,” texted another.

So, after being glum about how things have gone for Ruby so far, I’ve decided that I need to rewind and relaunch.  March is going to be a marvellous month.  A ruddy marvellous month.  A Ruby Marvellous month.

Over the next 31 days, I’m going to be posting here every day.  I’m going to be trying to get my mojo back.  There will be:
– Plenty of opportunities to get copies of both of my books as ebooks for free
– Limited edition illustration prints from Ruby Marvellous
– Discussions about my various advertising campaigns
– Hopefully some Guest Blogging
– A book site launch
– 3 Amazon Giftcards to be given away
– My top tips for self-publishing in Australia
and lots, lots more!

So, join me and let’s make March a month to remember!

Leave a Reply

