Around here

Standard

Pretty busy week this last week.  School has wrapped up so I’m on a two week break.  And by break I mean, that I turn into a full time writer, rather than just the dabbler that I am during term time. I have been feeling a bit under the weather these last few days, so I’ve allowed myself some time on the couch with my doona, pillow and the series catch-up of Survivor on tv.   That doesn’t mean that interesting things haven’t been happening around here.

One exciting thing is that Frankly Books is a nominee for one of the Australian Writers’ Centre Best   Australian Blog Awards for 2013 in the category of ‘Words and Reading’.  There are over 1000 blogs nominated and I’m really looking forward to taking a look at the shortlisted blogs in this category – I’m always on the hunt for something new to read.

Got a boost of confidence too this week when I made a brief appearance on the radio with the Chrissie & Jane Show on Mix101.1.  On Tuesday afternoon, I heard an advertisement for the show and that they were going to be talking about the urban myth of the boy who steals a penguin from the zoo.  I seriously nearly swerved off the road when I heard that!  It’s like they were talking directly to me.

Taking inspiration from Jane Wenham-Jones (and her brilliant book Wanna be a writer we’ve heard of?) I emailed them and told them briefly about Diary of a Penguin-napper. Within 20 minutes they’d called me about my book (which is, in case you didn’t know, about a boy who steals a penguin from the zoo) and asked if I’d talk about it on the show the next day.  The interview went really well and loads of kids from school heard it, so I got a bit of a rockstar reception when I arrived in class on Wednesday morning and sold a load of copies (including to another local bookstore), so it was well worth getting up before 6am.  I’m still hopeful that it will appear on their weekly podcast so that I can share it here, but there is nothing on their website as yet.

Seriously aiming to get my first draft of my new book finished this Easter weekend too.  In fact, I have even been quoted as saying that I won’t be eating any chocolate tomorrow until I do. Seeing as I’ve been poorly with no appetite, even the thought of eating chocolate is holding no appeal right now, so I’m not sure how that will really work as a motivator. Either way, I should probably get back to it.  One thing I’ve learnt as a writer is that new books don’t write themselves (no matter how hard one wishes!)

Happy Easter everyone!

Leave a Reply

