Notice anything different? (Better known as the post where I explain how I broke my blog)

Standard

As some of my more avid readers (Hi Mum!) might have noticed, my blog looks a bit different at the moment to how it looked two weeks ago. And not neccessarily in a good way.

To explain the full story of how my blog came to look like the awful example that it is now,

It was very difficult for me to break off my relationship with Blogger. I’ve loved Blogger and we have been together in different forms for a number of years.

Here are the great things about Blogger that made me enjoy our time together:
1. You can get a custom design very cheaply. This means that it is pretty easy for everything to look pretty and matching and therefore fairly professional.
2. You can then tinker with things yourself, such as font colours, without too much fuss and customise your blog further.
3. It is compatible with my Gmail accounts which makes life easy.
4. It’s free.
5. You can upgrade to a domain name of your choice for a very low cost.
6. It is easy to rearrange layout features using their drag and drop system.
7. There are some handy widgets, but obviously I was careful to stick to classy and neccessary rather than cluttered and tacky.

So, back in July this year, once I had made the decision to print my book and market it myself, I decided that I would need a new blog to start building an author platform, a way of documenting my adventures, with a tasty side dish of dispensing the advice that I wish I’d had available to me and that I’d instead had to learn along the way.

I’ve never had any problems with Blogger before I started up frankly-books.com and with that blog I’ve had nothing but trouble. The design was constantly changing without me changing it and I had a custom design made for it that just didn’t look right, no matter how much tweaking I tried to do. The CSS and HTML just didn’t want to change and this lead to problems with the formatting of text in blog posts (really, you should just be able to press ‘Publish’ and not have to go back and edit the spacing and font upwards of 12 times) and things like I couldn’t change the colour of the links, which seemed to be stuck on black – and who ever sees black links?

Quite frankly, I was being absolutely driven mad by Blogger and the way that it insisted on formatting my posts.

I finally cracked it and I decided that I should grow up and change to WordPress.

Here are the great things about WordPress that made me think this was a good idea:
1. Themes and lots of them. And quite a few free ones that look good.
2. Cleaner, fresher appearance.
3. Other bloggers whose blogs I like are with WordPress and they look hot.
4. Plentiful supply of widgets.

So about three weeks ago, I made the change. You might have noticed because every time you would pop by Frankly Books it would look slightly different as I’ve tried a range of themes, headers and widgets. I’m enjoying learning in the ins and outs of WordPress.com, although I’m hating the fact that I can’t fiddle with things behind the scenes in the way I used to with Blogger. Plus, my old header looks awful on this new site, hence the temporary one you see above.

Anyway, would I recommend switching between the two? No way!

Even after three weeks of making improvements, my blog is still broken. Lots of links aren’t working, the pictures are all over the place and my Google Apps email account is broken as a result.

My frank advice on this one is: If you are going to set up a blog, do it with WordPress.com to begin with. Save yourself the time, money and hassle of switching over and just do it right from the start. (If you are still unsure, come over to my place and I’ll let you try to fix some posts. It will be hours of your life that you will wish you had back!)

One thought on “Notice anything different? (Better known as the post where I explain how I broke my blog)

  1. Hugs to you… I’ve heard a lot of people say the same thing when they are ditching blogger. It seems like Google makes it difficult for people to leave. Well, you were very brave to do this big change. I got myself a new theme that I’ve been wanting to change to for about 4 months now. I can’t stomach even trying it. I even have a new header that I’m itching to debut. Sigh… Seriously, you = brave.

    That being said, I would be completely frustrated too. Good luck and hang in there. It’s such a time drain, isn’t it? By the way, did you know it’s snowing on your page (and all my other wordpress buddies’ pages!)? Hope you have some Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

