Awesome gifts for the Librarian in your life!

Standard

I’ve been extremely lucky to have had the opportunity to work as a teacher librarian over the last six months in Melbourne. It has been so cool to go to work and just share my passion for books with the class after class of children! (Not to mention my home reading pile has just been out of control trying to make sure that I’m reading lots of the new books that we’ve been getting in so I can recommend them to the kids when they ask for recommendations.)

Friday was the last day of school and it came with an unexpected side effect – Christmas presents from many of the students that I taught. There were lots of homemade baked goodies, cards, chocolates and candy canes, which were all really wonderful gifts and very much appreciated. (The diet starts in January, ok?) A couple of gifts really stood out as really thoughtful ideas for librarian gifts and I couldn’t resist sharing them here.

20121212-090108.jpg
As CS Lewis said, “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” So what about a metal book filled with tea? Very clever!

20121212-090059.jpg

Now that’s one way to get Pinocchio’s nose to return to its normal size – pencil sharper anyone? Totally gorgeous book themed gift.20121212-090113.jpg
Finally – everyone loves an iced Christmas cake and this one is particularly cool because it is decorated with a reading reindeer. It would have taken so much time and so much effort (and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to eat it because it is just so darn cute!)
Have you received a literary themed gift this holiday season? I’d love to hear about it! Leave me a comment (and let me steal all of your clever gift ideas for next year!)

Leave a Reply

