Penguin-napper Blog Tour – Week 1 Digested

Standard

There haven’t been any new posts on here for a week! Where have you been, Sally?

Ha! I’m glad you asked.  For those of you who have just happened upon my blog, here is what has been going on:

Last week (Gosh – seriously!  It was only a week ago!), I finally took a leap into the world of self-publishing and pressed ‘Approve’ on my first book called Diary of a Penguin-napper.  Next, in a pretty obvious attempt to convince you to run out and get a copy (INSERT SHAMELESS ADVERT HERE: It’s on Amazon and Smashwords e-book version only 99c. Paperback slightly more, but totally worth it!) I’ve been touring around a variety of excellent blogs every day for the past week being interviewed, writing and guest post and giving away books.  Phew!

 

(Thinking about you all wondering where on earth I’ve been suddenly made me think of this commercial to encourage tourists to come to Australia. I just like the line about having had the camels shampooed!)

So, who have you visited?

Well, on Monday, the blog tour kicked off with me dropping over to chat with Mandi of That Book You Like with a copy of the book to be given away.  Mandi had this (amongst many other lovely things!) to say about Diary of a Penguin-napper:

One thing leads to another and hilarity ensues, complete with a delightful combination of police (and parental) interrogation, tinned tuna and penguin poo.

Diary of a Penguin-Napper would suit well a wide range of readers, both boys and girls and children between about 8 and 11-years-old. It’s similar in style to favourites such as Diary of a Wimpy Kid and books by Andy Griffiths and you’ll have no trouble keeping the kids engaged in this fast-paced and fun-filled story. What a great way to help get kids reading!

On Tuesday, I was lucky enough to be interviewed by the delightful Alison Wells on her blog, Head Above Water.  Back in October, I sent Alison and her children a copy of the book and they have certainly got value out of it (with three of Alison’s children all battling over who gets to read it!)  Her children had some great things to say about the story – especially young Erica who said:

It was a fascinating book, exciting and adventurous. I liked the part where they stole the penguin from the zoo.  How much trouble can one little penguin cause? Answer: a lot.

Wednesday saw me dropping in to see Lisa at Lost in Lit where I debated my ongoing quandary when it comes to which should come first – writing or research.  Lisa has a copy of the book to giveaway, so be sure to pop in there and drop your name into the virtual hat to try and get your hands on a copy!

It was Thanksgiving in the US on Thursday and I’m very thankful to Janice Hardy for hosting me (between turkey suppers and all of the talk of pilgrims!)  I had a great time talking about different techniques you can use to make your writing funny at The Other Side of the Story.

Stephanie Campisi of Reading in a Single Sitting wrote up an absolutely gorgeous interview piece on Friday titled “Humour never goes out of fashion” – a direct quote from yours truly and something that is really at the foundation of my writing.  It is a must read!  I can’t even begin to tell you how much I just love it!

Finally, today is a stop for all of you teachers out there.  In my other life, as a teacher, I blog over at Lose the Chalk and I know how much teachers love freebies!  I’ve just uploaded a free three week teaching sequence to Teachers Pay Teachers to accompany Diary of a Penguin-napper for you to use in your classrooms.  It really is a great book to excite even the most reluctant readers in your class and this teaching sequence provides a variety of engaging and thoughtful activities to complement the text.

If you’ve just joined the fun, the blog tour continues all of next week and you can find out where I’ll be by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

