3 DAYS UNTIL LAUNCH: Songs that would be on the Diary of a Penguin-napper Soundtrack (If such a thing existed!)

Standard

Yesterday, I went to my first musical festival ever and I actually had a pretty good time.  I won’t bore you with all of the details (Ben Folds Five – saw them.  My life is now complete!), but it did get me thinking about possible music that would go well with different moments of Diary of a Penguin-napper.  Slightly tenuous link, I know, but here are some of the songs I came up with:

First Day of My Life
This was the very first song on a ‘Mixed Tape’ CD that The Boyfriend made me when we first started going out together.  He gave it to me as a Christmas present and now hearing it reminds me of the first time we met and of summer. It is what I imagine might be playing in the background when Marty and Jessica meet for the first time.  Awww …

Jolly Holiday

This is probably the best penguin dance sequence going about.  And actually, I can’t think of any other penguin dance sequences!  This is what I imagine penguins do at the zoo when everyone has gone home …

James Bond Theme

What other song would go with a book that is about being stealthy and stealing a penguin?

You Make My Dreams

This song features in the movie 500 Days of Summer and it really epitomises that feeling when you finally get together with someone you’ve been crushing on for a while.  Whenever I get to the very last page of Diary of a Penguin-napper, this song suddenly plays in my head.  And if I’m in a place where dancing is acceptable, I definitely like getting my groove on to it.  If you only want to watch one clip today, make it this one!

NOTE: For those of you who have worked out the countdown theme to my posts, I should point out that this was originally meant to be my ‘4 days until launch’ post, but then my stock arrived and that took over as the 4 days post.  However, I’d already picked four songs for this post and don’t want to cut any of them because I love them all.  So it is 4 songs with 3 days to go … and it bugs me a bit, but I’m just going to have to be ok with it.  The important part is – just 3 days to go!

Leave a Reply

